Yes and No. You can now stop your social media apps when not in use, and you can prevent their 3rd parties (analytics, ad networks, data brokers etc.) from tracking you.
However, when you use these apps, you are uploading your messages, photos, videos, contacts, emails, etc. directly into their servers.
Unfortunately, we cannot protect your data and privacy on their servers.